92nd Congress (1971-1973)

President: Richard M. Nixon (R-CA)

House Majority Party: Democrat

House Majority Seats: 255 out of 435

House Speaker: Rep. Carl Albert (D-OK)


Vice President: Spiro Agnew (R-MD)

Senate Majority Party: Democrat 

Senate Majority Seats: 54 out of 100

Senate Majority Leader: Sen. Mike Mansfield (D-MT)

"The House ends up, almost always, voting for a bill that is three-fourths decent, one-fourth lousy, without amendments." - Rep. Thomas J. "Tip" O'Neill (above)


Social Security Amendments of 1971

Legislative Branch Appropriations Act of 1971

Emergency Employment Act of 1971

Emergency Loan Guarantee Act

Agriculture Appropriations Act of 1971

Revenue Act of 1971

Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act

Economic Stabilization Act Amendments of 1971

National Cancer Act of 1971

Federal Election Campaign Act of 1971

Foreign Assistance Appropriations Act of 1972

Drug Abuse Office and Treatment Act of 1972

Equal Employment Opportunity Act of 1972

Delegates to the House of Representatives from Guam and Virgin Islands

National Aeronautics and Space Administration Authorization Act

Title IX Amendment of the Higher Education Act of 1972

Social Security Amendments of 1972


Enactments (cont):

Legislative Branch Appropriations Act of 1972

Agriculture Appropriations Act of 1972

Special Supplemental Food Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC)

US–USSR Strategic Arms Limitation Act

Federal Advisory Committee Act

Federal Water Pollution Control Act Amendments of 1972

Federal-State Revenue Sharing

Federal Environmental Pesticide Control Act of 1972

Marine Mammal Protection Act of 1972

State, Justice, and Commerce Appropriations Act of 1972

Consumer Product Safety Act

Noise Control Act of 1972

Coastal Zone Management Act of 1972

Supplemental Security Income Program for the Aged, Blind and Disabled

Equal Rights Amendment

Twenty-Sixth Amendment