91st Congress (1969-1971)

President: Richard M. Nixon (R-CA)

House Majority Party: Democrat

House Majority Seats: 248 out of 435

House Speaker: Rep. John W. McCormack (D-MA)


Vice President: Spiro Agnew (R-MD)

Senate Majority Party: Democrat 

Senate Majority Seats: 57 out of 100

Senate Majority Leader: Sen. Mike Mansfield (D-MT)

"But maybe, just maybe, Congress does not consist of angels." - Rep. Andrew Jacobs (D-IN) (above)


Children Protection and Toy Safety Act of 1969

Draft Lottery System

Agriculture Appropriations Act of 1969

Legislative Branch Appropriations Act of 1969

Tax Reform Act of 1969

Federal Coal Mine Health and Safety Act of 1969

National Environmental Policy Act of 1969

Cigarette Advertising

Environmental Quality Improvement Act of 1970

Airport and Airway Development Act of 1970

Voting Rights Act; amendments of 1970

Newspaper Preservation Act

D.C. Court Reform and Criminal Procedure Act of 1970

Employment Security Amendments of 1970

Postal Reorganization Act

Economic Stabilization Act of 1970

Nonvoting DC Delegate Act

Organized Crime Control Act of 1970


Enactments (cont):

Urban Mass Transportation Assistance Act of 1970

Bank Secrecy Act

Legislative Reorganization Act of 1970

Comprehensive Drug Abuse Prevention and Control Act of 1970

Rail Passenger Service Act of 1970

Agriculture Act of 1970

Family Planning Services and Population Research Act of 1970

Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970

Securities Investor Protection Act of 1970

Poison Prevention Packaging Act of 1970

Clean Air Amendments of 1970

Bank Holding Company Act Amendments of 1970

Omnibus Crime Control Act of 1970

Food Stamp Act of 1970

Foreign Military Sales Act Amendments