83rd Congress (1953-1955)

President: Dwight D. Eisenhower (R-KS)

House Majority Party: Republican

House Majority Seats: 221 out of 435

House Speaker: Rep. Joseph Martin (R-MA)


Vice President: Richard M. Nixon (R-CA)

Senate Majority Party: Republican

Senate Majority Seats: 48 out of 96

Senate Majority Floor Leader: Sen. Robert Taft (R-OH) /

Sen. William F. Knowland (R-CA)

Above: Speaker of the House, Rep. Joseph Martin (R-MA)


Department of Health, Education and Welfare

Submerged Lands Act

Agriculture Appropriation Act of 1953

Small Business Administration Act

Legislative - Judiciary Appropriation Act of 1953

Refugee Relief Act of 1953

Outer Continental Shelf Lands Act

St. Lawrence Seaway Act of 1954

Agriculture Appropriation Act of 1954

Legislative - Judiciary Appropriation Act of 1954


Enactments (cont):

Agricultural Trade and Development

Revised Organic Act of the Virgin Islands

Housing Act of 1954

Internal Revenue Code of 1954

Communist Control Act of 1954

Atomic Energy Act of 1954

Social Security Act Amendments

Custom Simplification Act of 1954