82nd Congress (1951-1953)

President: Harry S. Truman (D-MO)

House Majority Party: Democrat

House Majority Seats: 235 out of 435

House Speaker: Rep. Sam Rayburn (D-TX)


Vice President: Alben Barkley (D-KY)

Senate Majority Party: Democrat 

Senate Majority Seats: 49 out of 96

Senate Majority Floor Leader: Sen. Ernest McFarland (D-AZ)

Above: Senator Pat McCarran (D-AZ)


India Emergency Food Aid Act

Reciprocal Trade Act Extension

Defense Production Act Amendments of 1951

Agriculture Appropriations Act of 1951

Mutual Security Act of 1951

Legislative Branch Appropriations Act of 1951

War with Germany Termination

Revenue Act of 1951

Mutual Defense Assistance Control Act

Mutual Security Act of 1952


Enactments (cont):

McCarran-Walter Act

Puerto Rice Constitution

Agriculture Appropriations Act of 1952

Legislative Branch Appropriations Act of 1952

Veterans Readjustment Assistance Act

Federal Coal Mine Safety Act Amendments

Wire Fraud Act of 1952

Social Security Increase