80th Congress (1947-1949)

President: Harry S. Truman (D-MO)

House Majority Party: Republican

House Majority Seats: 246 out of 435

House Speaker: Rep. Joseph W. Martin (R-MA)


Vice President: (none)

Senate Majority Party: Democrat 

Senate Majority Seats: 51 out of 96

Senate Majority Floor Leader: Sen. Wallace White (R-ME)

Above: Senator Robert Taft (R-OH)


Portal-to-Portal Act of 1947

Greek-Turkish Aid

Foreign Relief Act


Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act (FIFRA) of 1947

Presidential Succession Plan

Pacific Island Trust

National Security Act

Smith-Mundt Act

Income Tax Reduction

Marshall Plan

Civil Air Patrol Act


Enactments (cont):

Legislative Branch Appropriations Act of 1948

Agriculture Appropriations Act of 1948

The Selective Service Act of 1948

Displaced Persons Act

Commodity Credit Corporation Charter Act of 1948

Federal Water Pollution Control Act of 1948

War Claims Act of 1948

Price Supports Agriculture Act of 1948

Foreign Aid Appropriations Act of 1948

22nd Amendment