79th Congress (1945-1947)

President: Franklin Delano Roosevelt (D-NY) /

Harry S. Truman (D-MO)

House Majority Party: Democrat

House Majority Seats: 244 out of 435

House Speaker: Rep. Sam Rayburn (D-TX)


Vice President: Harry S. Truman (D-MO) /


Senate Majority Party: Democrat 

Senate Majority Seats: 57 out of 96

Senate Majority Floor Leader: Sen. Alben Barkley (D-KY)

"You might as well try to repair a B-29 with an old-fashioned monkey wrench as to do the job Congress faces today with its present tools." - Rep. Mike Monroney (D-OK) (above), co-sponsor of the Legislative Reorganization Act of 1945.


McCarran-Ferguson Act

Agriculture Appropriations Act of 1945

Legislative Branch Appropriations Act of 1945

Emergency Price Control Act Extension

Presidential Tariff Powers Extension

Bretton Woods Agreement Act

Export-Import Bank Act of 1945

Revenue Act 1945

Corporation Control Act

Government Reorganization Act of 1945

U.S. Participation in the United Nations

War Brides Act

Filipino Rescission Act of 1946

Employment Act of 1946

Federal Airport Act

Federal Employees Salary Raise

National School Lunch Act of 1946


Enactments (cont):

Administrative Procedures Act

Agriculture Appropriations Act of 1946

Alien Fiancee Law

Hobbs Anti-Racketeering Act

Lanham Act (Trademark Act of 1946)

British Loan Act

Fulbright Scholars Act

Atomic Energy Act

Legislative Reorganization Act of 1945

Social Security Act Amendments

Foreign Service Act of 1946

Hill-Burton Hospital Survey and Construction Act

Indian Claims Commission Act

Farmers Home Administration Act of 1946

Fish and Wildlife Coordination Act