77th Congress (1941-1942)

President: Franklin Delano Roosevelt (D-NY)

House Majority Party: Democrat

House Majority Seats: 267 out of 435

House Speaker: Rep. Sam Rayburn (D-TX)




Vice President: Henry Wallace (D-IA)

Senate Majority Party: Democrat 

Senate Majority Seats: 66 out of 96

Senate Majority Floor Leader: Sen. Alben Barkley (D-KY)


"When you expect to vote wrong; do not make a speech about it." - Senator Alva Blanchard Adams (D-CO) (above), quoting former Senator Claude Swanson (D-VA)


Excess Profits Tax

Lend Lease Act

Corn and Wheat Quotas

Agriculture Appropriations Act of 1941

Legislative Appropriations Act of 1941

Selective Service Extension

Revenue Act 1941

Neutrality Repeal

Defense Highway Act

War with Japan

War with Germany

War with Italy

1st War Powers Act

Draft Act


Enactments (cont):

Thanksgiving Holiday

Price Control

2nd War Powers Act

Women's Auxiliary Army Corps

War with Bulgaria

War with Hungary

War with Rumania

Legislative Appropriations Act of 1942

Agriculture Appropriations Act of 1942

Women Accepted for Volunteer Service

Stabilization Act of 1942

Revenue Act 1942

18 Year Old Draft