76th Congress (1939-1940)

President: Franklin Delano Roosevelt (D-NY)

House Majority Party: Democrat

House Majority Seats: 262 out of 435

House Speaker: Rep. William D. Bankhead (D-AL) /

Rep. Sam Rayburn (D-TX)



Vice President: John Nance Garner (D-TX)

Senate Majority Party: Democrat 

Senate Majority Seats: 78 out of 96

Senate Majority Floor Leader: Sen. Alben Barkley (D-KY)


"Any jackass can kick down a barn, but it takes a carpenter to build one." - Rep. Sam Rayburn (D-TX) (above)


Administrative Reorganization Act of 1939

Legislative Branch Appropriations Act of 1939

Revenue Act 1939

Agriculture Appropriations Act of 1939

Hatch Act

Social Security Amends

Lending Authority Increase Act

Bald Eagle Protection Act

Naval Expansion

Naval Composition Act

Revenue Act 1940


Enactments (cont):

Alien Registration

Defense Expedition Act

Hatch Act (DC)

Investment Advisors Act

Selective Training and Service

Railroad Commerce Act

Second Revenue Act of 1940

Wool Products Labeling

Work Relief Supplementary Appropriations

Neutrality Act of 1939