Above: Speaker of the House John Nance "Cactus Jack" Garner (D-TX)

72nd Congress (1931-1933)

President: Herbert Hoover (R-CA)

House Majority Party: Democrat

House Majority Seats: 217 out of 435

House Speaker: Rep. John Nance Garner (D-TX)



Vice President: Charles Curtis (R-KS)

Senate Majority Party: Republican 

Senate Majority Seats: 48 out of 96

Senate Majority Floor Leader: Sen. James E. Watson (R-IN)


Reconstruction Finance Corporation

Federal Farm Loan Act Revision

Federal Reserve Act Amendments

Norris-LaGuardia Act

Revenue Act of 1932

Legislative, Executive and Judicial Branch Appropriations Act of 1932

Emergency Relief Act


Enactments (cont):

Home Loan Banks

Philippine Independence Act

Agriculture Appropriations Act of 1933

Treasury and Post Office Appropriations Act of 1933

20th Amendment

21st Amendment

Tariff Act of 1930 Amendments