71st Congress (1929-1931)

President: Herbert Hoover (R-CA)

House Majority Party: Republican

House Majority Seats: 270 out of 435

House Speaker: Rep. Nicholas Longworth (R-OH)



Vice President: Charles Curtis (R-KS)

Senate Majority Party: Republican 

Senate Majority Seats: 56 out of 96

Senate Majority Floor Leader: Sen. James E. Watson (R-IN)

Above: Senator Reed Smoot (R-UT), co-sponsor of the Smoot-Hawley Tariff Act


Legislative Appropriations Act of 1929

Agricultural Marketing Act

Census and Reapportionment Act of 1929

Revenue Act 1929

Airmail Act

NIH established

Agricultural Appropriations Act of 1930

War Pensions

Legislative Appropriations Act of 1930

Smoot Hawley Tariff

Federal Power Commission Reorganization


Enactments (cont):

Rivers and Harbors Act

WW Vets Act

Consolidation Act

Supplemental Appropriations Act

Employment Stabilization

Department of the Interior Appropriations Act

Legislative Appropriations Act of 1932

Agriculture Appropriations Act of 1932

Adoption of National Anthem

Muscle Shoals Dam Act of 1931